CPAR has a new home and welcomes a new editorial team!

Dear Members of the CPAR Community,

We are delighted to announce that the Center for Chinese Public Administration and the School of Government at Sun Yat-sen University is now the new home to Chinese Public Administration Review (CPAR). Under the editorial leadership of Marc Holzer and Elaine Yi Lu, CPAR has been included in the Emerging Sources Citation Index and become one of the most important publication outlets for international scholars addressing the issues of Chinese public administration and beyond. We are tremendously grateful to Marc and Elaine for their generosity and commitment to excellence in an effort to make this editorial transition as smooth as possible.

Originally founded in 1905, the School of Government at Sun Yat-sen University is one of the leading institutions in public administration and political science in China, and its Social Policy and Administration discipline ranks 47th place worldwide in the 2021 QS report. Together with the Center for Chinese Public Administration, the sole key research base designated by the Chinese Ministry of Education since 2000, we are committed to injecting new energy to traditional studies for good governance and achieving academic excellence with cooperation from renowned public administration institutions and scholars worldwide. 

Our vision for CPAR is grounded in an understanding that the fundamental purpose of academic journals is to expand the literature of intellectual thought and to promote the diffusion of scientific knowledge. We firmly support the idea that CPAR has created an essential pathway for academics and practitioners to advance topics and ideas aiming to tackle the increasingly complex public administration and public policy issues. As such, we respect and encourage theoretical pluralism as well as methodological diversity to ensure a very high academic standard. 

We are grateful to CPAR’s editorial board, to our authors and to our reviewers for the time and commitment they have been contributing to the continued success of the journal. As our school and center are determined to turn CPAR into one of the top journals for public administration scholarship, we look forward to working with all of you in the years to come.  

Finally, please join me in welcoming an esteemed group of editors as CPAR enters its 19th year of publication and a new era of excellence:


Huafang Li, Grand Valley State University

Qiushi Wang, Sun Yat-sen University

Ling Zhu, University of Houston

Associate Editors

Qian Hu, University of Central Florida

Liang Ma, Renmin University

Markie McBrayer, University of Idaho

Hongtao Yi, Ohio State University

Wenxuan Yu, University of Xiamen

Yueping Zheng, Sun Yat-sen University

Section Editors

Gang Chen, University at Albany, State University of New York

Can Chen, Florida International University

Heungsuk Choi, Korea University

Tsai-Tsu Su, National Taiwan University

Bo Wen, City University of Hong Kong

Assistant Editors

Hanjin Mao, Rutgers University – Newark

Min-Hyu Kim, Dongguk University

Chengxin Xu, Seattle University

Production Editors

Gaozhao Dongfang, Florida State University

Pinze Liu, Sun Yat-sen University

Hang Qi, University of Missouri



Ankui Tan, Editor-in-Chief

Dean and Professor

Center for Chinese Public Administration Research, School of Government

Sun Yat-sen University